What real estate heirs should know about the land register

Anyone accepting a real estate inheritance must have the land register corrected. The land register file is maintained by the competent office, usually the district court. The land register records the ownership of a plot of land (and any buildings erected on it). It also records encumbrances such as mortgages or land charges.

For the correction, you as the beneficiary of the estate must submit a written application: you replace the deceased as the new owner. The certificate of inheritance serves as proof that you are legally following in the deceased's "footsteps". This shows the succession and thus the legality that you are the new owner.

To obtain a certificate of inheritance, you must apply to your local probate court. At the same time, you have to prove the accuracy of your information to the probate court with the application. For this purpose, you must either submit various documents and certificates such as the death certificate, the place of residence and the nationality of the deceased and possibly prove that there is no legal dispute about the inheritance, etc.

If these documents are not available or are difficult to obtain, you can alternatively submit an affidavit as heir to the court or a notary. A separate fee will be charged for this.

A fee is also due for issuing the certificate of inheritance, which is based on the amount of the estate. If this amounts to 100,000 euros, for example, the fee is 546 euros.

If the succession is clear from a contract of inheritance or a will, these documents can also be sufficient. In this case, a certificate of inheritance is not necessary and you save these costs. An employee of the probate court will tell you whether these documents are sufficient.

No notary is required for this land register correction, as is the case, in contrast, with real estate sales and other activities involving a property. However, the transfer must take place no later than two years after the death of the testator. If you submit the application later, the office will charge an additional fee.

Do you still have questions about the land register? We will be happy to advise you.

Photo: ra2studio

Rate your property now!

Free of charge | Non-binding

Wills and inheritance contracts: What real estate heirs need to know

In a will, the testator can stipulate which person receives the property and which descendant receives other assets such as a sum of money. If the testator has not made a will, intestate succession applies. Especially when bequeathing real estate to [...]

Read more

Help, I have inherited a property!

In more than half of all inheritance cases in Germany, real estate is bequeathed to descendants. Every year, real estate assets worth between 100 and 150 billion euros change hands in this way. Due to the high tax allowances, there are [...]

Read more

What you must consider as part of a community of heirs

If you do not inherit a property alone, but together with your siblings or the children of your deceased spouse, you form a community of heirs. In contrast to a sole inheritance, where you are the legal successor alone and [...]

Read more

OUR TEAM

with passion

Christine Hegglin

Owner

058 510 95 70 ch@hegglingroup.ch

Joe Hegglin

Architect HTL
Federally qualified real estate trustee
Freelancer

079 334 49 77 jh@hegglin-architektur.ch

Kurt Thomas Egli

Real estate valuer

058 510 95 74 079 729 22 05 ke@hegglingroup.ch

Gregor Speck

Management

058 510 95 78 gs@hegglingroup.ch

Marco Bordonaro

Photographer and videographer

058 510 95 81 mb@hegglingroup.ch

Manon Hauser

Back Office Real Estate Sales in Training

058 510 95 84 mlh@hegglingroup.ch

Alexandra Lang

Real estate agent

058 510 95 87 al@hegglingroup.ch

Diana Huber

Real estate agent

058 510 95 77 dh@hegglingroup.ch

Cedric Zimmermann

Back Office Real Estate Sales in Training

058 510 95 82 cz@hegglingroup.ch

Nadine Figueiredo

Back Office

058 510 95 71 nf@hegglingroup.ch

Was Immobilienerben zum Grundbuch wissen sollten

Wer eine Immobilien-Erbschaft annimmt, muss das Grundbuch berichtigen lassen. Die Grundbuchakte wird vom zuständigen Amt gepflegt, in der Regel dem Amtsgericht. Im Grundbuch werden die Eigentümerverhältnisse an einem Grundstück (und dem gegebenenfalls darauf errichteten Gebäuden) festgehalten. Zudem sind darin Grundpfandrechte wie Hypotheken oder Grundschulden erfasst.

Für die Berichtigung müssen Sie als Nachlassempfänger einen schriftlichen Antrag einreichen: Sie lösen als neuer Eigentümer den Erblasser ab. Als Nachweis dafür, dass Sie rechtmäßig in dessen „Fußstapfen“ treten, dient der Erbschein. Hieraus gehen die Erbfolge und damit die Rechtmäßigkeit, dass Sie neuer Eigentümer sind, hervor.

Für die Ausstellung eines Erbscheins müssen Sie sich an Ihr zuständiges Nachlassgericht wenden. Gleichzeitig haben Sie mit dem Antrag die Richtigkeit ihrer Angaben gegenüber dem Nachlassgericht zu belegen. Hierfür müssen Sie entweder verschiedene Dokumente und Urkunden vorlegen wie den Todesschein, den Aufenthaltsort und die Staatsangehörigkeit des Verblichenen und möglicherweise belegen, dass es keinen Rechtsstreit um das Erbe gibt etc.

Sind diese Schriftstücke nicht oder nur schwer zu beschaffen, können Sie alternativ als Erbe eine eidesstattliche Versicherung gegenüber dem Gericht oder einem Notar abgeben. Hierfür wird eine separate Gebühr erhoben.

Auch für das Ausstellen des Erbscheins wird eine Gebühr fällig, die sich an der Nachlass-Höhe orientiert. Beläuft sich diese beispielsweise auf 100.000 Euro, liegt die Gebühr bei 546 Euro.

Geht aus einem Erbvertrag beziehungsweise Testament die Erbfolge eindeutig hervor, können auch diese Dokumente ausreichen. Dann ist kein Erbschein nötig und Sie sparen sich diese Kosten. Ob diese Schriftstücke ausreichen, sagt Ihnen ein Mitarbeiter des Nachlassgerichts.

Für diese Grundbuch-Berichtigung ist kein Notar notwendig, wie dies im Gegensatz dazu bei Immobilienverkäufen und anderen Aktivitäten, die eine Immobilie betreffen, der Fall ist. Die Umschreibung muss allerdings spätestens zwei Jahre nach dem Tod des Erbgebers erfolgen. Reichen Sie den Antrag später ein, erhebt das Amt eine zusätzliche Abgabe.

Sie haben noch Fragen zum Grundbuch? Wir beraten Sie gerne.

Foto: ra2studio

Was Sie als Teil einer Erbengemeinschaft beachten müssen

Wenn Sie nicht alleine eine Immobilie erben, sondern zusammen mit Ihren Geschwistern  oder den Kindern Ihres verstorbenen Ehepartners, dann bilden Sie eine Erbengemeinschaft. Im Gegensatz zu einer Alleinerbschaft, bei der Sie als Rechtsnachfolger alleine und […]

Weiterlesen

Testament und Erbvertrag: Was Immobilienerben wissen müssen

Im Testament kann der Erblasser verfügen, welche Person die Immobilie, und welcher Nachfahre andere Vermögenswerte wie einen Geldbetrag erhält. Hat der Erblasser kein Testament gemacht, gilt die gesetzliche Erbfolge. Gerade beim Vererben von Immobilien an […]

Weiterlesen

Gesetzliche Erbfolge: Wer hat Anspruch auf die Immobilie?

Bei Erblassern, die zu Lebzeiten kein Testament und keinen Erbvertrag abgeschlossen haben, legt das Gesetz die Erbfolge fest. Darunter fallen in Deutschland die meisten Erbfälle. Dabei werden in erster Linie Ehegatten beziehungsweis eingetragene Lebenspartner sowie […]

Weiterlesen

UNSER TEAM

mit Leidenschaft dabei

Christine Hegglin Schorderet

Inhaberin / Geschäftsleiterin
Eidg. dipl. Betriebsökonomin FH CAS Immobilienschätzerin FH

058 510 95 70 ch@hegglingroup.ch

Joe Hegglin

Architekt HTL
Eidg. dipl. Immobilientreuhänder
Freelancer

041 755 34 50 079 334 49 77 jh@hegglingroup.ch

Helene Grüter

Immobilienexpertin

058 510 95 72 075 432 33 95 hg@hegglingroup.ch

Kurt Steiner

Immobilienexperte

058 510 95 71 079 529 38 42 kst@hegglingroup.ch

Nico Wiatrowski

Immobilienvermarkter

058 510 95 73 079 752 60 57 nw@hegglingroup.ch

Kurt Thomas Egli

Immobilienvermarkter

058 510 95 74 079 729 22 05 ke@hegglingroup.ch

Rochelle Strohschneider

Immobilienvermarkterin

058 510 95 75 079 101 96 44 rs@hegglingroup.ch

Petra Zen-Ruffinen

Assistentin Geschäftsleitung

058 510 95 77 pz@hegglingroup.ch

Gregor Speck

Operations Manager

058 510 95 78 gs@hegglingroup.ch

Hans Schuppli

Kundenberater

058 510 95 80 hs@hegglingroup.ch

Miro Hauser

Back Office Immobilienverkauf in Ausbildung

058 510 95 76 mh@hegglingroup.ch

Marco Bordonaro

Immobilienfotograf

058 510 95 81 mb@hegglingroup.ch

Christian Odermatt

Verteiler

058 510 95 70

Sheila Sost

Projekt- und Prozessmanagerin (ab 10.05.2021)

058 510 95 82 ss@hegglingroup.ch

Kerstin Lang

Vertriebsassistentin Qualifizierungsteam (ab 01.06.2021)

058 510 95 83 kl@hegglingroup.ch

Manon Hauser

Back Office Immobilienverkauf in Ausbildung (ab 02.08.2021)

058 510 95 84 mlh@hegglingroup.ch